June 2, 2013

21-Day Simplify Challenge – Day 20: Sleep

Posted in 21-Day Simplfy Your Life Challenge, Organization at 9:50 am by otherdeb


2013-05-14 16.28.05 HDR

My nice, comfy bed © 2013, Deborah J. Wunder

This challenge had us look at our sleeping habits. I looked at where I sleep, and when, and how.

I have never slept eight hours in a row unless I was really ill. It just doesn’t work for me. What I do instead, these days, is make sure that within each 24-hour period, I do get at least six to eight hours of sleep. It may be in the form of two-hour naps; it may be one really long nap and a couple of short ones; it depends on what I have to do and what I feel like.

I instituted this change last September, when I hit my 60th birthday. The really good thing about my schedule, as a freelancer, is that I can generally sleep when I’ tired, and be awake and not sluggish when I’m not tired. With the health issues I’ve had over the last year, this has become more important than ever.

The other changes I’ve instituted have been to turn off the tv before going to bed, and to turn off the light when I go to sleep. Until I hit 60, I never worried about those tow things, but I’ve become much more protective of my health since then, as I’ve become much more aware of how easy it is to lose it.

Leave a Reply

