May 12, 2013

21-Day Challenge: Day 2

Posted in 21-Day Simplfy Your Life Challenge, Organization at 2:53 pm by otherdeb


Okay, today’s task was to make a list of my top five priorities:

Things that Matter Most in My Life Right Now

  1. Getting my health back
  2. Getting my walking range back
  3. Cleaning up my  living space
  4. Having my business succeed
  5. Losing weight

There they are in all their glory.  The one surprise on the list was that losing the weight was actually the lowest of the five.

Below and In Front of the A/c - Before ©2013 Deborah J. Wunder

Below and In Front of the A/c – Before ©2013 Deborah J. Wunder

Additionally, I set myself the task today of pulling out all the stuff obscuring my air conditioner, so that I can begin going through it. This is the before picture:

As you can see, I have quite a lot of stuff there to go through. Still, it will be a relief to have it done.  I know it’s baby steps, but it does add up, thank the ghods.  I have plans for what I want my space to eventually look like, and it will take time to get it that way, but I will manage to do it.  Of course, this isn’t the scariest of the three spots in my room that need work; that honor actually goes to the pile o’stuff on top of my dresser at the moment.

IMG_0180

Frames by Mickalene Thomas Photo ©2013 Deborah J. Wunder

One thing I eventually want to do is to create some picture frames like the ones I saw when I went to see the Mickalene Thomas exhibit at the Brooklyn Museum. I was really impressed with the way she layered the frames, and think I could achieve the same effect with frames from various thrift shops.  I love learning new crafts, and this looks like it will combine a number of things to learn: working with various media to make a coherent whole that will not only be interesting to look at in and of itself, but will be functional.

 

There is an interesting PBS special on right now, about a Hawaiian ukelele player named Jake Shimabukuro.  I didn’t turn it off, because I thought my friend Abby played ukelele (she doesn’t – she plays mandolin; I called her and checked), but now it has truly caught my interest. On the other hand, we now have a little bit of a goal for me to explore while trying to get my walking range back. I do love it when things I want to do meld together nicely.

Anyway, I’m off to get some stuff done, so I will post the result of my attempt to clean out under the a/c tomorrow.

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. Janet Wilson said,

    This 21-day challenge is getting interesting. I sat down to make a 5-goal list like yours and it was harder than I thought. Here it is:
    1) Maintaining (at least!) the current level of physical/mental health
    2) Decreasing and gradually getting rid of the debt
    3) Cleaning, decluttering and simplifying my living space
    4) Cutting down on the books, keeping only those I really want
    5) Losing weight.

    Not only did losing weight turn out to be last on the list, but if I hadn’t combined the physical and mental health goals, losing weight would have been just part of them and not made the top-5 list at all. My priorities tend to shift up and down whenever I think about them. Now to see what we do about these lists now that we have them!

    • otherdeb said,

      Oh, yes, this challenge is about to get really interesting. Should be posting Day 3 stuff shortly. I do like your priorities, though. I suspect that, in some ways #4 will be the hardest, but I’m biased. I hate letting books go. Plus, getting rid of books is pretty much the only thing I’ve gotten pushback from the roommate over.


Leave a Reply

