April 18, 2013

The Joys of iPhones and Apple Care

Posted in debt, Organization, Tech at 11:36 pm by otherdeb


Thanks to T-Mobile’s finally deciding to carry the iPhone, I now have a new iPhone 5 and a substantially lower phone bill.  That’s the good news.

The bad news is that I seem to have two separate Apple IDs, and this is screwing up syncing my phone and my computer. One ID thinks I have five authorized devices, and the other thinks I have two authorized devices. I am not sure how this happened, but I’m now on hold with Apple, while we try to sort this out. Unfortunately, this might mean I lose a good portion fo the stuff I have downloaded from Apple over the last few years of using my iPhone, or losing all the stuff I apparently have under the other ID. Still, whichever way it shakes out, I will finally be able to sync my phone and my computer. We managed to get at least most of the issue fixed, although I am stuck with having to replace a lot of the stuff that was on the ID I can’t use.  Fortunately, much of the stuff that needs to be recreated is on the HP computer, so it’s on the external hard drive. The best part is that I have finally been able to get the songs my deceased friend, Mike Daly, wrote onto my iPhone.

In other organizing news, we continue to put books on Bookmooch when we can, and I got almost a whole series of mysteries I wanted.

In financial news, I have managed to completely pay off one account.  the money I used to pay that one each month will go to paying off the next one on the list. So, progress is being made even there, although I still have a long way to go. Anyway, that’s about it for today — I have a lot of stuff left to get done tonight.

6 Comments »

  1. turtle said,

    First, this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3mKnPTcrqc

    Second: call apple directly and ask them if they can amalgamate the id’s. Generally, though – you want to keep your old one. Having more than one apple id is bad.

    • otherdeb said,

      Thanks for the laugh! I did call Apple. I probably should have made it more clear that I was on the phone with them as I was typing the entry. They couldn’t amalgamate the IDs. They did spend time with me getting the amount of computers that are authorized to agree with each other, though, and got my iPhone to actually sync with my computer, so I am mostly pleased.

      And, yes, calling Apple is generally the way to go. I have found their phone staff to be willing to spend whatever time it takes to actually help when you call them. When my old iPhone first went wonky, the Apple tech spent about three hours on the phone with me trying various things to fix it. And he was patient and encouraging the whole way through the process. It’s one reason I went back to Apple when I got the new computer.

  2. Joanne said,

    Cheers on the financial front. Good luck on all the rest.

  3. Janet Wilson said,

    Yes, isn’t it great to have something to which to point and say, “See, I’ve paid off that one. So it must be possible to pay off the rest!” I am so pleased to be able to do that. Congratulations, and may it happen again soon and often! (Well, as long as necessary. You know what I mean.)

    • otherdeb said,

      Hi Janet! Yes, it is one of the best feelings! And, thanks, I have a long way to go, but I know the route, so I know I can do it.


Leave a Reply

