March 21, 2013

Planning Ahead – Redecorating the Front Room

Posted in Organization, Uncategorized at 7:26 pm by otherdeb


Hmmm — I just found this from a journal entry I started in January, but never finished.

“My sister, she of the good intentions, wants to help redecorate the front room, but her ideas all include things that would break the space into two, which neither the roomie nor I want. Therefore, I will stand my ground. I know how I want to demarcate the difference between the two areas of the room, and my plans do not include having furniture jut out into the middle of the room.”

Well, my sister is not talking to me these days, which is kind of a good thing, because it means she is not calling me every time she forgets her computer passwords. Further, it means that I don’t have to fight with her over how my front room should look.

The roomie and I are very happy with the room being nice and spacious. Yes, we need new furniture. Yes, we need enough chairs for company to have seats. Yes, we need to do some serious rearranging of the furniture we do have.

What we don’t need, however, is my sister’s kind of decorating.  In her house, every surface is covered with gewgaws. It’s all very pretty, and very Victorian, but it’s not me.  I like things being nice and with some family type stuff around, but with enough space for people to feel like they aren’t going to knock over something irreplaceable if they breathe too hard. Further, I am NOT the only person living here, so any decorating has to take into account the roomie’s likes and dislikes.  Fortunately, we are similar enough that this is not a major issue.

Anyway, the roomie and I have been discussing what we want the room to ultimately look like, and we are beginning to work towards it.  We each have a lamp or two we like, and we will work out a decor that fits both of them in.  We also like fairly neutral colors, so picking a color scheme should be easy enough.  If we want anything wild, we can each do it in our bedrooms.

So that’s where redecorating plans are at the moment. Given our budgets, we are proceeding slowly and thoughtfully, since whatever we pick, we will have to live with for a long time.

2 Comments »

  1. Janet Wilson said,

    I’d say you’re going to have a very nice front room, with the amount of thought and work you’re putting into it. I’d better do some planning too: by fall I want this place to look (even if it isn’t quite) organized, as there’s going to be a visit from the ex. As a start, I’ve done a little spring-cleaning in the kitchen, and if I keep it up it will look as normal as a kitchen inhabited by a crayfish in a 10-gallon tank on the table is ever likely to (the crayfish being a family member, not a dinner plan).

    • otherdeb said,

      Great! I know that it’s hard to get organized, no matter where you are starting from. And I love the idea of a crayfish as a family member.


Leave a Reply

