February 21, 2013

Work, Work, Work!

Posted in Life happens, Organization at 11:16 pm by otherdeb


I tell you, it’s either feast or famine around here.

For six months, after I had the cellulitis, I could get no work whatsoever (not that I was – by any means – trying all that hard).

This last week, I got enough work to constitute full-time hours, even though I am still recovering from the congestive heart failure of two weeks ago.

I am keeping abreast of things, although I find myself having to stop and take naps more often than I normally would, and I am still having to remember to step away from the computer to do things like eat, walk, and read books.

Organization has taken a backseat this week, mostly relegated to culling about a dozen books from the ever-overflowing bookshelves, and giving away about four and putting the others into one of the two freebie boxes we set up.

The roomie inherited her mother’s television set, which necessitated getting another cable box. The service call cost us $40, and the additional service will cost $5/month, but now she has real reception. Our Landlord dragged the old tv (with the remote taped to it) out to the sidewalk for us, and we are hoping it vanishes the way the old air conditioner did.

The bad news for the day is that I had to call the ex and borrow money for a payment to Weight Watchers, to prevent my account from being cancelled. The problem the roomie had about six months ago, with two debt collectors breaking their agreements and taking out the full balance of her debts from her bank account has meant that we have been largely living on my overdraft privilege. There is an end in sight, but it has been rough (which is why I am delighted that I have the work referred to above).

Anyway, deadlines wait for no woman, so I need to get back to writing and editing.  See everyone next week!

2 Comments »

  1. Janet Wilson said,

    Delighted to hear about the paid work and that you’re being careful of your health at the same time. May cellulitis, CHF and debt collectors stay away. Improvement tends to seem extra slow in February, but things should work better in March, which luckily is almost here…

    • otherdeb said,

      Thanks, Janet! I sure hope things get better in March. Once the roomie fixes her part of the banking problem, things should be, at least, on an even keel again, so I am hopeful.


Leave a Reply

