January 3, 2013

Taking a Day Off

Posted in Being kind to myself, Finances, January Cure, Organization at 11:22 pm by otherdeb


Well, not really, but I did make time to go and see Les Miserables with a friend this afternoon.  It was wonderful, and I highly recommend it!

I’m on Day 2 of Apartment Therapy’s January Cure.  It’s spending the month getting the house into better shape.

Yesterday, Day 1, was for making a list of things in the home that need working on.  My list was:

Foyer

  • Clean out closet so it can be used
  • Fix door panel
  • Vacuum carpet Completed 25 Jan 13
  • Clean front door glass

Living Room

  • New blinds
  • Fix two table lamps Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Organize bookshelves
  • Go through boxes in closet Completed 28 Jan 13
  • Go through coats in closet
  • Dust
  • Vacuum Completed 25 Jan 13
  • Fix speaker connection Completed 9 Jan 13
  • Hang pictures
  • New torchere  Completed 5 Jan 13
  • Work on cleaning up stain on living room table Completed 6 Jan 13
  • Restain dining room table (added 6 Jan 13)

Hall

  • Organize wicker shelves (In progress)
  • Organize cookbook bookcase (In progress)
  • Vacuum Completed 25 Jan 13

Bathroom

  • Put up shower curtain bar
  • Buy & put up shower curtain
  • Buy & put up holder for shower head
  • Clean tub
  • Clean sink Completed 25 Jan 13
  • Fix sink drain
  • Clean shower
  • Fix shower drain
  • Vacuum
  • Mop Floor
  • Clean door mirror Completed 9 Jan 13
  • Clean sink mirror Completd 9 Jan 13
  • Fix towel bar

Kitchen

  • Reorganize cabinets
  • Fix cabinet handle Completed 9 Jan 13
  • Hang grid rack & add shelves & hooks Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Put stuff on grid rack Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Vacuum Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Mop

My Room

  • New bed frame
  • Clean up pile by window Completed 13 Jan 13
  • Clean dresser top
  • Clean pile by white desk
  • Clean pile by a/c (In progress)
  • Hang pictures
  • Clean & organize art trays
  • Clean & organize desk
  • Clean corner cubby
  • Clean Dad’s cubby
  • Yarn into cabinet or container (In progress)
  • Clean up file cabinet & set up for use (In progress – Top drawer cleaned out & set up 24 Jan 13)
  • Files into drawer (added 24 Jan 13) Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Clean floor
  • Vacuum
  • Mop
  • New torchere  Completed 6 Jan 13
  • Move Julia’s desk to the roomie’s room
  • First batch of clean clothing into dresser Completed 6 Jan 13
  • Second batch of clean clothing into dresser Completed 8 Jan 13
  • Third batch of clean clothing into dresser Completed 18 Jan 13
  • Fourth batch of clean clothing into dresser
  • Yarn into Ravelry stash page (added 15 Jan 13) (In progress)
  • Clean under bed (added 15 Jan 13)
  • Clean nightstand (added 18 Jan 13) Completed 26 Jan 13
  • Match unmatched socks (added 18 Jan 13) (in progress)

I’m glad that the one month is mostly for setting up and setting plans in motion.  It’s clear I have a bunch of plans to get the parts of the house *I* live in ready.  I know that the roomie will do little to help me, and I’m not even gonna begin to think about prodding her to clean up her room — how she keeps her place is her business, after all.

In financial news, the roomie fell prey to yet another creditor who took money out of her account so that she had to hustle to replace it.  She was proud that she didn’t panic, and figured out how to replace the funds.  I do not understand why what I have told her about dealing with creditors just doesn’t seem to sink in.  She doesn’t print out her annual free credit reports, so she cannot check them when these creditors call, and she doesn’t keep records of what bills she pays, so when they call, she always believes that she owes what they say.  Given that the amount is always the same, I suspect that there is one debt that keeps getting resold to other creditors & that she is listed as an easy mark.  I’m at a point where I am not upset about this, except for not understanding why she keeps falling into the same fix, but I guess I have to accept that this is how she is with money, and work on getting things caught up more on my own.

Oh, yeah, and the netbook (my backup computer) got fried while she was borrowing it.  So, out of three computers in the house, the only one working (at least vaguely) is mine.  Her laptop sees my router, but cannot seem to connect to the Internet, even with an Ethernet cable.  A friend offered to loan me her old iMac, but part of the reason she replaced it is that it will not run a current version of Flash, and I do need it for some of my work.  We talked about letting the roomie use it, but I really don’t want to put the iMac at risk, since I cannot afford to replace it if it gets screwed up.

So, that’s the news this week.  I do plan to update the list above as things get done (or as others get added), so we can see what progress I make.

What projects do you want to get done this month?  This year?  How do you plan to tackle them?

4 Comments »

  1. Janet Wilson said,

    That’s a very impressive list! It’ll be a pleasure to see it shrink over coming posts. My project at the moment is to work out a step-by-step plan whereby all the storage boxes under my bed will contain books I admit I won’t be able to sort, shelve and weed out unless/until I am living alone some day. (I’ve been in denial on that since I got here, so admitting there are any such books will be a good start.) That will free the outside storage shed for things like general storage.

    A look at the shed, however, reveals that (as far as I can tell) the only way this would be feasible would be to have a double layer of boxes under the mattress instead of the present single layer. This means I’ll be sleeping higher off the floor, and makes the planning a bit more complicated. Will I have to do it all at once, and if not where can I put the extra boxes until they go under the bed, etc.? This place is cram-full as it is, and day-to-day living has to go on while the project is underway.Trying to figure it out should, at least, keep my busy through January.

    • otherdeb said,

      Hi Janet! Sounds like your living situation is a lot more complicated than mine, spacewise. Good luck with it, and if I can help in any way, do let me know.

  2. Janet Wilson said,

    Thanks! What my situation is, mostly, is cramped. However, I decided to blitz the book project today and I now have an extra layer of books (14 boxes) under the mattress. I sort of had to do that part all at once so I’d have a bed to sleep in tonight, so the rest of the room looks like an illustration for “after the bomb”. Since it was wet today, all the boxes in the backyard storage shed are still there, but now they can be moved gradually into the indoor storage space (laundry room cupboard) the other books were in.. So finishing the project will still take most of January. Meanwhile my roommate/son has reminded me 3 times so far not to roll out of bed accidentally in the night now that it’s higher up.

    • otherdeb said,

      Congratulations on the book project so far. This morning when I wake up, I need to finish the pile of stuff in front of the window, so that I can get the clothing that no longer fits out of the dresser, and fill it with clothing that does fit.


Leave a Reply

