September 6, 2012

Wow. It’s September Already.

Posted in Health, Perspective, Throw Out Fifty Things at 4:17 am by otherdeb


I have slowly and painfully been evaluating where I stand…not much fun, but if I want to figure out where I am going in the future, it needs to be done. One thing I have decided is that I need to be doing my own writing, both in terms of blogs and income generation.  The jobs I have been finding online are not generating the kind of income I want, and I really hate shilling for products I don’t believe in. I currently have one writing for hire project in the pipeline, and I am learning some of the skills I will need in the future, so I am doing my best to fulfill this one last job.  I have made arrangements for hosting one of my three blogs, and once that is going the way I want, this blog and my knitting blog will get transferred there, too. Right now, the one recurring expense I have added is rejoining Weight Watchers.  The roommate and I have discussed this, and decided that my getting healthy again was a priority, and that we could afford to spend the money for the one program that I know for sure works. It’s not a cheap program — the current price is $42.95/month for their monthly pass.  This allows me to attend as many meetings as I want, and allows full use of their online and mobile tools, which is very useful. I have been making sporadic attempts to do the program in Throw Out Fifty Things.” So far, I have ten things (things being defined loosely as groups of things):

  1. Papers
  2. Plastic Bags
  3. DVDs
  4. Boxes
  5. Eyeglass cases
  6. Medicine Bottles
  7. Magazines
  8. Watch Cases
  9. Paper Bags
  10. Ink Cartridges

It”s a start.  And a pretty good one.  I’m not tossing clothing just yet, however;  That will have to wait until I lose enough weight to get into the next smaller size, since I do need to cover my carcass before walking out the front door.

A friend and I were just discussing being caught in-between.  She never had trouble getting a job until she got her teaching certification.  When I went back to school, I had no idea I was setting myself up as unfit for corporate world:  too qualified to be an administrative assistant; not qualified enough to be a manager.  And, at ages 40 (my friend) and 60 (me), we are aging out of a market that increasingly ignores older workers in favor of younger ones — favoring those who they can pay less, regardless of the longer learning curve.

I remember trying to get my first jobs — everyone wanted experience, and I couldn’t understand how I was supposed to get that experience if I couldn’t get a job.  Now I have the experience and the credentials, and I can’t get hired because I am over-qualified (and older).  As my friend said, “on the one hand, its great that we in theory have all these career choices…  on the other hand, there aren’t a lot of careers out there anymore.”  Theory, however, doesn’t pay the groceries or the electric bill, let alone the phone, internet, rent, etc.

For me, I have opted out of that race, and am now trying to carve out my own little piece of the universe.  It’s challenging, and long-term.  And I keep refining the ideas of where I want to go and what I want to do so that I am actually beginning to get a real sense of focus.  However, that doesn’t mean there aren’t still days when I want to hide under the covers.  And overcoming that, I suspect, is the biggest challenge.

So, although this is short, there is a lot to think about.  Here are my questions for the moment:  What do you do to reinvent your life when you are caught “in-between”?  What piece of the universe can you carve out, succeed at, and call your own?

4 Comments »

  1. turtle said,

    Much of the things you are throwing out in your list of 10 things could be recycled. 🙂

    • otherdeb said,

      Hi turtle!

      Yes, and I do recycle where possible. If papers are blank on one side they either go into my printer pile, or are cut in half to make my scratch pad. Newspapers, magazines, and other paper goods are bundled and put out with the recycling. Ink cartridges are taken back to the store to be recycled, etc. The main thing is to get them out of the piles in my room and either into something useful, or out of the house.

  2. this is an excellent question and I really need to think about it.

    • otherdeb said,

      Thanks, Joanne! Will be very interested in hearing what you come up with!


Leave a Reply

