November 23, 2011

R.I.P. Anne McCaffrey (1926-2011)

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:18 am by otherdeb


Anne McCaffrey has passed on after suffering a stroke.  This just caps a couple of weeks of losses.  First came word that an online friend, Chris “Keris” Croughton had been killed in a three-way collision near his home in England.  Second was the news yesterday that a Real Life friend, Dorothea (Dea) Nillson Phillips had passed away in her sleep (from a heart attack) while on a cruise with her husband.

Like many of us, I discovered McCaffrey’s writing as a teenager.  At the time, her Dragonrider series had only two books, and I devoured them, and then (as they came out) almost everything else she had written.  Her characters were friends, sometimes in ways other characters in other books were not.  Her books found me just at the perfect time in my life for that to have happened.  I still have the ones I owned (as opposed to the ones I borrowed from the library).  And I still treasure them.

Sigh.  I want a “do-over” for this month.

