April 26, 2011

A Simple Cup of Tea

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:50 pm by otherdeb


I am not a tea fanatic; that is, I do not get bonkers over which exclusive, break-the-wallet brand is the best.

That said, I do love tea.  Nothing is more relaxing than a nice cup of tea.  It makes the workday go better, makes life seem more civilized, even when it’s at its craziest.  Mostly, I have been making tea one mug at a time, because my tea gear was all packed away from when I moved here (yes, that long…).  Today, I cleaned out two boxes of stuff from the living room, and one of the boxes contained my tea things.

Among those tea things was my eight-cup teapot, and its two matching cups and saucers.  I had been missing that pot for a while — so much so that Marc attempted to replace it with a lovely teapot from the local Chinese market.  And that pot is wonderful, but it just wasn’t “my purple pansy teapot.”    You know how it is…certain things symbolize comfort.

I love Chintzware, modern or old, and this was the first modern Chintzware pattern piece I acquired.  Back when I was living on East 4th Street, this pot was almost always in use, and I’ve missed it.

Now that life has changed, and I will be in this apartment for a while, I decided it was time to start going through the boxes cluttering up the living room.  I’m not getting crazy and trying to clean them all up in one fell swoop.  Space here is limited, and shared with Sue, so things have to be gone through slowly, and places found for the things I am keeping.  This is not a bad thing; I firmly believe in going through things every so often to see what is still relevant to my life, and what I no longer want to carry with me.

The main thing is that I now have my favorite tea things again, and it’s so much nicer to have my teapot and teacup sitting on my desk with me as I work.

(Oh, and the pic is of one of the teacups and saucers from the purple pansy set.  It’s a fairly sturdy set, and is part of the Baum Bros. Formalities line.)

