December 26, 2009

So, what have I been up to lately?

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:04 am by otherdeb


Well, the main focus of my life over the last few months (well, since May 14th) has been getting to have a body that represents me properly.  By that, I mean a body that works as well as a 57-year-old body can, and that expresses how I feel about myself.

First, a before picture:

Rather frightening, isn’t it?

Next, a picture taken yesterday, wearing the same gown:

Much better, though I’m still not where I want to be.  And, I got the nicest complement during the past week.  Someone noted that the more weight I lose the more I resemble Dame Judi Dench, who is one of my favorite actresses!

The method I have been using to lose the weight is a combination of Weight Watchers, walking, and supplements.

WEIGHT WATCHERS:  Okay, I know that some people call it a cult.  Maybe it is.  What I also know is that it works, and is the program that fits best with my life.  it allows me to eat things I love, and to eat either at home or in restaurants.  And I really lucked in this time:  my leader is one of the top 20% of leaders nationally!  He has taught me a lot about reframing, and — even more importantly — about letting go of things that I need to let go of, which is an issue I’ve had for about as long as I can remember. (There’s an old joke that Virgos never forget, but do grant a general amnesty every seven years or so….)

WALKING:  When the school year ended, I realized how tired I was of not being able to do things, so I decided that my project for the summer would be to get out of my computer chair and spend as much of each day as possible on my feet and moving.  Fortunately, I live in one of the best cities in the world for walking.  I visited museums.  I visited galleries.  I wandered neighborhoods I hadn’t wandered in years.  I had a ball!  And by the end of the summer, I was able to do between 6-10,000 steps a day.  I’ve slowed down some since the school year started, but I just signed up for an online walking program through RealAge.com, so that I will not have an excuse to slack off on days I can’t get out to walk.

SUPPLEMENTS:  I have been using one of the personalized supplement plans from Functionalab, and have found it to be excellent.  Further, their consultant – Limore –  has become more than a salesperson, she has become a friend, and a valued member of my support team on this project.

The down side of this year is that I got excessed from work in June.  Being excessed is kind of like being in purgatory…I get to work at the same place, doing pretty much the same stuff, but for half the hours (and, of course, half the pay).  My union is supposed to find me another job, but doesn’t seem to be rushing to do so.  The good side of this is that I am actually working with people I like, in a spot where I am useful, and not bored to death.

I still have a ways to go, as I noted.  My goal weigh is, for the moment, 130 lbs. (When I started, I was hoping for 120, but I think that 130 is more reasonable — making that decision was one of the hardest things I’ve done, by the way…)

I also got my teeth fixed, finally.  It was not cheap, and would not have happened without the kindness of both my ex and my roommate, but I now have teeth where I had three stubs and a gap.  The next step is lightening my natural teeth a shade, so that they don’t look grey all the time.  The final step will be to cap some of the teeth on the other side, so that my teeth look even.  On the other hand, I now have a smile, which I didn’t for years.

So, that’s the state of the Deb for the moment.

I hope that everyone reading this has a wonderful holiday season, no matter which holiday you are celebrating.  Further, I sincerely hope that 2010 will bring you everything you want.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

