June 8, 2008

Shuffle

Posted in Equilibrium, Finances tagged , at 8:02 pm by otherdeb


Way the heck back in 1975, a feminist musical group, The Deadly Nightshade (Helen Hooke, Anne Bowen, Pamela Brandt), released their eponymous album, with a wonderful song called “Shuffle.” I don’t remember much of it, except the last verse:

“Susie’s got some diamond rings, Susie’s got some furs.
Susie rides in half a dozen cars, but none of them is hers.
Well, I ain’t got no caviar, and I ain’t got much wine.
All I got’s my body and soul and, baby, all of that is mine.”

This verse has stuck with me since then, and was on my mind this week at work, because of a situation with one of the more skimpily dressed female students. It was on my mind again today, because of something that happened online.

A “friend” on a social website offered to help me monetize this blog. I was interested, until he told me that the firm my readers would be clicking through to would be a pay day loan organization. I thought about it for all of a half-second before refusing the offer, noting that I did not believe in those pay day loan providers, and that I felt that offering a pay day loan to folks who are interested in getting out of debt was totally unethical, and would lose me any of the precious credibility I am trying to build. (You will note, I am not saying that no one should monetize their blog this way, just that for me it was a big negative.)

I first heard of pay day loans in ads on late night tv, promising to send money directly to your checking account. These offers sounded way too good to be true, and when I examined the fine print, I found out they were. As in most loans, you pay the interest off first, but the rate of interest is so high that the payments the loan company deducts never actually manage to do that, so you keep paying exorbitant interest on top of interest on loans that were not all that much to begin with.

Unfortunately, my roommate didn’t do her homework. She took one out. Then, when she couldn’t pay that one off, took out another, and another, so eventually she had five of them deducting amounts from her checking account each pay period. Soon, she was behind in her share of the rent (again), and for what? All because of a lousy $250 pay day loan.

We are still trying to deal with the fallout from that, and her shortfalls have affected me, in that to keep a roof over my head, I have had to intercede between her and her mother, who writes out our rent checks.

That aside, the main thing I know is that if you don’t have your reputation, and your credibility, you have nothing. So, turning down this offer was easy.

Do you find that doing the right thing eventually turns out to be the real “easy way”, instead of the shortcuts most folks look for? Have you ever been offered something that you know is unethical? Did you do it, or turn it down? Either way, how did it turn out?

1 Comment »

  1. […] Shuffle Well, I ain’t got no caviar, and I ain’t got much wine. All I got’s my body and soul and, baby, all of that is mine.” This verse has tuck with me since then, and was on my mind this week at work, because of a situation with one of the … […]


Leave a Reply

