June 8, 2008

Fielding Curve Balls

Posted in Equilibrium, Inspiration tagged , at 12:10 am by otherdeb


I got thrown a curve ball a little while ago, while commenting on a post at Bible Money Matters.

I noted that one step in recovering my equilibrium was turning a huge negative (being a battered kid) into a huge positive (having been gifted by my dad with the best thing a parent could give: toughening me up enough to survive whatever gets tossed at me).

Now, I grant you that there are many better ways to teach this to your kid than taking a knife or your fists to him or her. Heck, I surely wish I didn’t have to learn it that way. But what I am convinced of is that it is a major lesson that many of my more sheltered friends never learned.

I cannot note how many of my better-cared for friends crumble at the first real emergency that arises. Nor am I immune to that first sinking sense of panic that accompanies most emergencies. But at some point reality kicks back in and I move from hysteria to figuring out what the next step is.

Often, I have no idea how I will survive whatever the emergency is, but one thing Mom used to say is that God helps those who help themselves, and — after a lot of thinking about it — I have to agree with that. So, my way of regaining equilibrium is to just keep putting one foot ahead of the other, and to know that I am not alone, no matter how much it may look like I am.

What are some of the curve balls that you’ve been thrown? How has handling them changed your life? How have they either strengthened or changed your core beliefs?

2 Comments »

  1. Pete said,

    thanks for the link.. i think turning negatives into positives is something a lot of people do regardless of if it was because they had an abusive parent, a lack of money growing up, or any other number of things. I think it takes a strong person to overcome those types of things, and what’s the saying – if it doesn’t kill you it makes you stronger!

    My faith also helps me to get through -giving me strength and confidence when the going gets tough – like recently when my wife went into the hospital for 3 weeks with a life threatening blood clot. Those types of situations have a way of making you sit up and just be grateful for what you have – even just the bare necessities.

  2. otherdeb said,

    @ Pete: I agree that turning negatives into positives is something that is a real survival mechanism, but I also know far too many folks who seem to lack it.

    My kid sister is still angry at the whole universe because her life is not easy, although it’s certainly no harder than mine has been. My roommate is totally helpless in the face of her inability to manage her finances (and I make about 1/3 what she does).

    I’m not sure how much learning to carry on despite the curve balls is learned, and how much you need to be a certain kind of person to do it. I sure wish I knew, because I know so many people who I wish had the skill. And, yeah, there is an element of faith in it…regardless of what faith you follow. But what is it that gives some of us the ability to have the faith to keep putting one step in front of the other? It’s easy to say faith in God (regardless of your religion), but it’s a lot harder to explain how you know that God will carry you no matter what.

    It’s clear to me that both you and I are absolutely sure of our place in the scheme of things, and that we both believe that God does not give us tests we cannot pass, but where do we get the strength to hold those convictions?


Leave a Reply

