January 2, 2014

It’s Been an Interesting Year. Time to Let Go and Move Forward.

Posted in Finances, freelancing, Health, Life happens, personal finances at 3:33 pm by otherdeb


As some of you know, my health took a huge turn toward pear-shaped in 2013. In February, I went through congestive heart failure. In April, I was referred to a cardiologist. In August, I was finally diagnosed with a congenital heart defect that had lain dormant for over 55 years, and now had become something of a time bomb. In December, I had another round with my old enemy, cellulitis.

The interesting news for the purposes of this blog, however, is pretty good. Except when health issues have gotten to me, I’ve been doing freelance stuff all year. I haven’t looked yet to see if it has earned enough to be called a living, but I do know that it was better than the previous year.

I also took a course from Ed Gandia, of the International Freelancers Academy, called the B2B Business Launcher. I had sat in on one of Ed’s webinar’s, and walked away with so much actionable information that I knew I wanted to do the course. It did not disappoint, either. I now have a functional professional website, to which I will soon be connecting my writing blog. If you are looking at freelancing as a career, I highly recommend any course that Ed is teaching, and please feel free to tell him that I referred you. He really is one of the good guys, and he’s a heck of a nice guy, too boot.

I am setting one major financial goal for this year: to create an emergency fund for myself and get it funded so that when the next emergency strikes, and I have no doubt it will, I don’t have to scramble so badly to get things dealt with.

My other main goal for the year is to get back to blogging on a regular basis. I consider that part of taking back my health, and it’s been far too long.  For now, I am planning to stick to my long-established schedule: the food and weight blog on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday; the knitting blog on Tuesday, this blog on Thursday, and the writing/grammar blog over the weekend. We shall see how well I can stick to that.

Other than that, I am hanging in. There is some rough family stuff going on, but we all have families so we all have family stuff. I will get through it. It will involve some tough decisions that I never wanted to have to make, but I will make them. It’s also clear to me that I am going to have to really fight to get the proper resolution for my health issues. This is the kind of fight I totally hate, because I am not a medical expert by any means, and I am going to have to fight the arrogance of surgeons who refuse to see beyond chart numbers and risk profiles. But I am nothing if not persistent (Yeah, Glasser, you can say stubborn…..), and I will keep at them until what is done is what gives me the best chance of getting my life back.

So, that’s where things are at right now. What the future holds is anybody’s guess, and I’ll be just as curious to find out as everybody else.

Finally, I wish each and every one of my readers a 2014 that is filled with joy, good friends, family of the heart, health, love, and prosperity.  You all keep me going, and I am grateful for each of you, whether I know you in real life, just from the Web, in comments, or even by your silent presence here. You are all important to me, and I thank you for being there.

5 Comments »

  1. Janet Wilson said,

    Wonderful to see this blog again, Deb! Especially since it means your health is getting better. No heath changes for me in 2013, really, but one big financial one. I spoke to the credit management people about my financial situation and they said, “OMG! file for bankruptcy Right Now.” So I did, and am now keeping careful track of every penny and making monthly reports to them. If I can keep from screwing up till next August, I’ll be debt-free. At least that’s the theory. (I don’t know if it works the same way in the US). I’m going to try to manage it. It’s amazing to see interest actually coming *from* a bank *to* me (OK, it was 2 cents, but it’s the principle of the thing!) I too am going to try to put together an emergency fund, as a 2014 resolution.

    • otherdeb said,

      Thank you. I wish it did mean my health was getting better. It just means that I am fighting for it. I am so glad to hear that you have taken the steps to get your finances back in order. All I ever wanted from this particular blog was to show people that it can be done, even if there are missteps along the way. Hearing that you did, and are doing, what was necessary to get your life back in order is the best news I could have heard today (other than that the cardiologist decided to stick to his guns, which I’m not expecting to hear anytime soon, sadly).

  2. thnidu said,

    Thank you. I’ve just signed up for Ed Gandia’s International Freelancers Academy emails.

    “whether I know you in real life…” Heh. You call fandom “real life”? ;-)

    • otherdeb said,

      It’s about as real as anything else, and a hell of a lot more entertaining most of the time.

      If you can take one of Ed’s free webinars, you really should do so. The first one I took, I came away with eight pages of actionable notes, and I have been working toward getting my act together writing-wise with a lot more ease and confidence.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,529 other followers

